The Main PPC Marketing Terms to Master and Set Converting Ad Campaigns

PPC marketing terms to master

PPC marketing is the quickest and easiest method to help you get conversions.

Unlike SEO marketing, it doesn`t require technical knowledge. Provided you know your audience`s intent and set high ad-quality score campaigns, you can rank and attract an audience that converts.

To set high-performing ad campaigns, you need to know the terms used. That will enable you to use keywords aligning with your audience and appear in targeted search results.

Knowing PPC marketing terms enables tracking campaign results and understanding how your ad campaigns perform so you can adjust them and bring more conversions.

This article will guide you through the main PPC marketing terms to master and build a successful PPC marketing campaign.

Search Engine Marketing (SEM)

SEM refers to using paid advertising to rank websites high on search engine result pages and drive conversions.

It entails optimizing your ads with keywords aligning with your clients` searches. This enables your products or services to be displayed above organic search results to increase visibility and attract conversions.

Search engine marketing differs from SEO in that, SEO uses only organic practices to rank websites and drive traffic while SEM uses also paid advertising.

Check out more about how to conduct SEM here.

Cost-Per-Click (CPC)

This is a PPC marketing metric that determines how much you should pay for each click your ad gets.

You can calculate your ad cost-per-click by dividing your ad total cost by the number of your ad clicks.

If, for example, your ad costs $300 and you get 600 clicks, here is how you can calculate it

$300 / 1500 = $0.5

So your cost-per-click is $0.5

The keywords you choose, your ad quality score, and your bidding amount decide your CPC.

If you choose competitive keywords and place a low bidding amount, your ad quality score will drop even when you choose relevant keywords and create a persuasive copy.

For your ads to rank, choose high-volume, targeted keywords and place a high bid amount. Plus ensure to create landing pages that align with your audience`s persona.

Learn more about how to create effective PPC marketing campaigns here.

Ad Rank

This is a PPC metric that defines how high ads get displayed compared to other ads, or whether they should be displayed at all.

Every time somebody searches, your ad rank ability to be displayed is calculated according to its relevance with the context of the search queries and competition in an auction with other ads.

If your ad is relevant to people`s search queries but your auction is lower than your competitors, it will appear low on the search results.

To increase your ad rank, you need to bid on high-volume keywords aligning with your search intent and increase the bidding price you place on your ads.

Ad Quality Score

Ad quality score determines the relevance and usefulness of your ad with the searchers` intent. It determines whether your ads rank and drive conversions.

To increase your ad quality score, use high-volume keywords, and relevance to the audience`s search queries and create copy that entices people to click on your ads.

You should also create a navigable, responsive landing page that aligns with your products and audience`s characters.

That entails using product pictures and colors that harmonize with your audience`s needs.

For instance, if you sell fruit juice, you can use yellow, orange, or red colors, and ensure to put fruit pictures.

Moreover, create a copy that shows the benefits people can get from buying the drinks. That can be, ”Quench your thirst, be energized, and feel fresh with fresh fruit juice.” 

That resonates with your clients and makes them picture themselves enjoying the drinks, which increases the chances of making sales.

Maximum Cost Per Click (CPC) Bids

This refers to the highest amount you set for your ad clicks. If you set a maximum of $3, your ad can`t be charged more than that.

Maximum cost per click (CPC) bidding is divided into two types, automatic and manual bidding.

Automatic bidding allows you to set your daily budget and the search engines adjust their maximum amount and ensure ads get many clicks.

In manual bidding, you set the maximum you want for your entire ad or various bid amounts for particular keywords. And then you get charged according to the amount you set.

Cost Per Mile (CPM)

Also called cost per thousand, CPM refers to the amount paid per one thousand views or impressions an ad gets.

In cost-per-mile, advertisers pay for every 1000 views your ad gets no matter whether people take action or not.

Such ads help avail your business to many people and increase brand awareness.

To set effective cost-per-mile ad campaigns, pick high-volume, less difficult keywords that relate to your audience searches. Then place a high auction and create an intriguing ad copy. You will rank high and attract many people to your business.

Ad Campaign

Ad campaign refers to an advertising strategy that helps marketers achieve their marketing objectives like increasing sales, brand awareness, traffic, or email subscribers.

To make your ad campaigns effective, target specific goals per a single ad campaign and create ad campaigns that align with your audience`s search intent.

You can identify people`s search intent according to the keywords they use when searching for relevant products or services.

For instance, if you want to increase brand awareness, use informational keywords to attract people who are looking for educative content.

Do not mix up informational and commercial keywords. You will attract an irrelevant audience and have a low chance of driving conversions.

Here is an in-depth content about how to create effective ad campaigns.

Ad Group

This refers to an ad that contains two or more related ads.

The importance of ad groups is to separate ads and target specific audience personas.

For example, if you have a car industry selling a wide variety of cars, you can set different ad groups to focus on different sets of customers. You can set separate ads for rally cars, sports cars, public transport, heavy commercial, etc.

This helps create ads that align with the specific audience's characters, resonate with them, and easily convert them.

You can align your ads with your audience`s persona by promoting relevant products or services and using language that relates to them. For instance, if you sell heavy commercial cars, you should write copy that uses lingo that appeals to that audience.

Keywords

These are the words people use to search for products or services online.

Keywords determine the relevance of ads to search queries and influence the actions taken on ads.

For your ad campaigns to rank and appeal to your audience, you must use keywords related to their searches and your brand goals.

If your goal is increasing sales, you should create ads with keywords that attract people with a buying intent. This involves using words like, buy, purchase, affordable, cheap, etc.

Keywords also enable creating match types that help display your campaigns as you like. For instance, you can create exact match types so your ads appear on exact search queries.

So, if your ad keyword is affordable freelance writing courses, you will appear on the exact searches and not on keywords like cheap freelance writing courses.

Here is how you can conduct keyword research and create ad campaigns that rank and drive converting traffic.

Ad Texts

These are contextual ads that appear on third-party websites, social media platforms, or search engine result pages.

They appear in the same form as the text content on the platform they appear.

Ad texts are composed of a title, description, and link that leads to the advertised resource.

For instance, on search engine results, ad texts take the form of the results and are displayed in languages identifying them as advertisements so viewers can notice them.

How to use ads texts in PPC marketing

Landing Page

This is a web page to which people are directed after clicking an ad.

You can use a section of your website as a landing page, or build a stand-alone landing page. The idea is to have somewhere your readers can be directed to get what your ads promise.

To make your landing page effective, use an ad copy that shows the benefits people can get for buying your goods or services.

Check out this content and learn how to create copy that encourages people to click on your ads.

Besides, use clear calls to action that intrigue people to act.

Check out this content to learn how to create landing pages that drive conversions.

Master PPC Marketing Terms and Create Converting Ad Campaigns

Your ad campaigns will perform well if you know how to utilize the PPC metrics.

Knowing the PPC marketing terms, enables you to understand the metrics to use in setting campaigns that drive conversions.

That involves knowing the keywords that align with your audience`s intent and your campaign goals, which enables you to auction bids that can bring traffic.

That helps you to increase your ad quality score and have a high potential to make sales.

Understanding PPC marketing terms also helps know the PPC metrics to track, see ads performance, make adjustments, and increase the chances of driving conversions.

Share this content to help people know the terms that can enable them to set ads that convert.

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